Malaysia is comprised of 13 individual states and three federal territories between two large land areas. Peninsular Malaysia is home to 11 states and two territories, while East Malaysia (also known as Malaysia Borneo), which shares a border with Indonesia, is made up of two large states (Sarawak and Sabah) and one federal territory. Both distinct land areas, however, rank as some of the most biologically diverse regions in the world. Unsurprisingly, Malaysia is one of only 17 countries around the world that is considered “megadiverse” with, at least, 20% of the world’s known animal species. It has a high number of species and many endemic species, particularly in East Malaysia.

WRI attempts to keep the information featured in the Risk Tool's country profiles up to date. However, the legal frameworks and the situation in each country are constantly changing. Please help us maintain the Risk Tool by submitting information about relevant updates to forestlegality [at]

Last updated: April 2013